Border Golfers’ Association

March 2, 1893 signalled the beginning of the Border Golfers’ Association, with seven Clubs:

Hawick; Melrose; Selkirk; Galashiels; Innerleithen; Kelso; and Peebles, coming together to form the B. G. A. – the first Association of its kind in Scottish amateur golf. It is good to record that The Borders lead the way.

The Border Championship was instituted in 1893; the Challenge Trophy in 1904; the Hart Cup (Boys Championship) in 1960; the Champion of Champions in 1966 and the Border League in 1976.

Today, there are 21 affiliated Clubs. The B.G.A. still plays an important and active role in fostering golf locally, and representing the view of Borders’ golfers in the new Scottish Golf Limited. Jack Keeney, a long-standing member of the BGA Council has been President of the Scottish Golf Union in 2015- the last ever President of the S.G.U..

BRS-GOLF-logo     RGU-Logo     TOT-new-logo-1

Meet The Committee

Robert Holmes

Robert Holmes

Jack Keeney

Jack Keeney

SGU President 2015
Dennis Little

Dennis Little

Ian Thomas

Ian Thomas

Alistair Christie

Alistair Christie

Council Member

Border Championship 2016: Minto

1P JohnsonHawick139
2K BeattieHawick143
3J BerryTorwoodlee143
4A ChalmersRoxburghe143
5Derek GillieTorwoodlee143
6S FairburnTorwoodlee145
7I FordKelso145
8David GillieTorwoodlee145
9A LawrieTorwoodlee145
10D MurdochSt Boswells146
11G EastonHawick147
12J GrantRoxburghe147
13A BallantyneHawick147
14E GunterTorwoodlee147
15C LawrieGalashiels149
16S KingGalashiels150
17M DuncanDuns150
18S WallaceMinto150
19B HogarthKelso151
20J GillespieMinto151
21S McElrathKelso152
22J TinlinHawick154
23G TinlinHawick156